Today, South Lone Pine is Galloway’s main corridor. But until the 1960s, narrow Highways 65 and 60 connected Galloway with places like Ozark and Rogersville. People from those communities and beyond traveled through the heart of historic Galloway Village, where there were once general stores, gas stations, beer joints, garages and even a school. On pretty days, Sequiota Cave and Sequiota Fish Hatchery drew large crowds to this quaint getaway.
PASSENGER STATION AT GALLOWAY
In 1882, the Gulf Line Railway built a large, two-story depot at the corner of Mill and Main Streets in Galloway Village. The building was modern for the time, with electric lights and steam heat.
The Frisco took over the Gulf line in 1901 and hired architect R.C. Stevens to completely remodel and expand the depot in the mid-1920s. It was remodeled in the California mission style, a favorite of the railroad’s president, J.M. Kurn. The station brought families in droves to Sequiota Park and Galloway Village up until the 1950s.
THROUGH THE YEARS
Galloway has long been a beloved spot for families, explorers, entrepreneurs, leisure-lovers and the like. Click on the years below to immerse yourself in its charming history.